The best unknown feature in Studio 10

My favorite new feature in Pinnacle’s Studio 10 is the Auto Save feature. It’s buried deep in the Options dialog, on the Project Preferences tab.
AutoSave

If this feature is disabled, (as it is by default), then you have to explicitly open and save your projects, just like you would with documents in NotePad.

But when I’m actively working on a project, I want Studio to open directly into the project I was most recently working on. Don’t waste my time making me have to explicitly open it.

If the program’s smart enough to add it to the Recent Projects list, it should be smart enough to just open to the document I’m interested in.

Then there’s the Auto Save part of it. Never having to wait for a Save to explicitly happen is nice. Everything I do is instantly committed to disk. (I can always undo my change or save a copy of my project if I want to keep a snapshot.)

And for technical reasons, using AutoSave actually makes the projects smaller on disk! Turning on the feature saves time and space. How often do you hear that?

Advertisements
Explore posts in the same categories: Tips & Tricks

3 Comments on “The best unknown feature in Studio 10”

  1. Steve Says:

    Well, while the Auto Save feature might be the greatest thing since sliced bread.
    If sure slows one down if you are using the new projects to render an effect into AVI that you want to take into that real project.
    I.E. Studio doesn’t allow you to open a ‘new’ project without saving it first.
    Not a time saver imho.

    Thanks for starting the blog though.

  2. David Says:

    Auto Save is not the best thing about Studio. It’s only one of the best “unknown” features. I’d actually like it to be split into two things:

    1. Auto Save the current project.
    2. Auto Open the last project that was open when launching Studio.

    Two completely independent operations. Anyway, Skeeter, was that the sort of thing you were complaining about?

  3. Steve Says:

    Hi

    Yes it would be nice to have the option of note being asked to save a ‘new’ project when one is really after messing around a little, such as checking a problem condition that someone has reported in a forum.
    Plus there are times when one just wants to try some new methods, plugins or fxs.
    Not sure if my first response rates up there as a complaint, I would see it more as a repsonse.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: